Mahasthangarh: There are ruins of an ancient town in the village which was called Mahasthan Shibganj Upazila in Bogra district area which was called Pundravardhanpura Pundravardhan of Pundranagara. A six-line limestone slab in Prakrit in Brahmi script, which records the land grant discovered in 1931, dates back to the third century BC at Mahasthangarh. It was an important city under the Mauryan Empire. Fortified territories were used until the eighth century. Mahasthan means a place of excellent purity and Garh means a fort. Mahasthan was first mentioned in the 13th century Sanskrit text Vallacharita. It is also mentioned in an anonymous text, the Karatoya Mahatmya, which is incidentally placed in the 12th-13th centuries. The same text also mentions two more names meaning the same place – Pundrakshetra, the land of the Pundars, and Pundranagar, the city of the Pundars. In 1685, an administrative decree mentioned the place as Mastangarh, a mixture of Sanskrit and Persian, meaning the firm place of an auspicious person. Later discoveries have confirmed that the earlier name was Pundarnagar or Paundravardhanapura and that the present name of Mahasthangarh is of later origin.
Mahasthangarh ( Pundranagar ), the ancient capital of Pundravardhan, is located 11 km (6.8 mi) north of the Bogra Bogra- on the Rangpur highway, with a feeder road (running along the eastern side of the citadel’s ramparts for 1.5 km) leading to Jahanjghata and Site Museum.  Buses are available from Bogra to Dhaka and take 4 hours to travel via Bangabandhu Jamuna Bridge across the Jamuna River. Buses are available from Bogra to Mahasthangarh. Rickshaws are available for local commute. Hired transport is available in Dhaka/Bogra. Accommodation is available in Bogra.  When traveling in a hired car, one can return to Dhaka on the same day, unless one has plans to visit the Sompura Mahavihara and other places in Paharpur in Naugaon district or engage in a detailed study.
The citadel (see accompanying map), the fortified heart of the ancient city, is rectangular in plan, about 1.523 kilometers (0.946 mi) long from north to south and 1.371 kilometers (0.852 mi) long from east to west. Wide ramparts in all its wings. The area of the citadel is about 185 hectares.  The Karatoya, once a mighty river but now a small stream, flows to its east. 
Until the 1920s, when excavations began, the inside of the citadel was more than 4 meters higher than the surrounding areas and consisted of several stragglingly high pieces of land. The rampart looked like an earthen rampart covered with forest with forced openings at several points. The rampart was 11–13 meters (36–43 ft) higher than the surrounding area. There was a Mazhar (Holy Tomb) in its southeast corner. Later there was also a mosque (built-in 1718–19). 
There are currently several mounds and structural remains inside the fortifications. Some of these notes are Jiyat Kund (according to legends, which has life-giving power), Manaklir Dhap (sacred place to Manakali), Parashuram Basagruha (palace of a king named Parashurama), Bairagir Bhita (palace of female langar), Khodar Pathar Bhita (a place of stone given by God), and Munir Ghon (a stronghold). There are a few entrances at various points: Kata Duar (to the north), Dorab Shah Toran (to the east), Burger Gate (to the south), and Tamra Dawa (to the west). There is a flight of steps in the northeast corner. (later added) which goes by the name of Jahajghat. A little further from Jahanjghat and on the banks of Karatoya is Govinda Bhita (a temple dedicated to Govinda). In front of it is the site museum, which displays some representative findings. There is a rest house next door.
Gobindo Bhita, a temple near the north-east corner of the citadel 4 km north-west of a monasteries Noropotir Dhap (Vashu Bihari), 1 km north-west of Totaram Ponditor Dhap a group of monasteries (called Po-shi-PO Bihar, mentioned by Xuanzang (Hiuen Tsang) Was) Gokul Medh (Lokhindorar Bashor Ghor), a temple 3 km south of the citadel Shkondar Dhap, a temple 2 km south-east of Gokul Medhi